How to upgrade the firmware of the HP Onboard Administrator

October 14, 2011 — 19 Comments

A post mostly for documentation sake on how to upgrade the firmware of the Onboard Administrator of an HP BladeSystem enclosure.

The update is a very straight forward process that can be done entirely through the OA web administration interface.

Go to Active Onboard Administrator –> Firmware Update.

OA1

From that screen you can upload the firmware from your system or enter an URL where the image is available. For our example we are going to use the upload option. Browse to the firmware image file and click Upload.

The OA web administration interface will logout any connected user and will start the upgrading process.

OA2

During the upgrade a progress bar like the one in the above screenshot will be shown and the OA will be reset when the process is complete.

OA3

Finally log into the OS and from the Active Onboard Administrator screen check the OA version.

OA4

Juanma.

19 responses to How to upgrade the firmware of the HP Onboard Administrator

  1. 

    Hi,

    During the upgrade, the blades need to be powered off, or not?
    Would the blades/servers be affected in any way if the they are powered on and functional during the upgrade ?

    • 

      Hi Adrian, thanks for commenting.

      No the blade server are not affected in any way by the Onboard Administrator upgrade, with the exception that blade iLO interfaces will not be accessible during upgrade process.

      Juanma.

      • 

        Can upgrading the Onboard Administrator be done on the fly with WMware and VM’s running, or must we shut down our system first? We are running Brocade FC for storage, and using Virtual Connect for client data. Thanks.

  2. 
    Geyson Rodriguez March 29, 2012 at 17:30

    Hi, During the upgrade the blades lost conectivity?

  3. 

    Hi, after Onboard Administrator firmware upgrade from version 3.31 to 3.55 I have problems:
    – No connection with Onboard Administrator via https
    – On display I see that Onboard Administrator is not loading correctly and rebooting
    How can I fix this? Thanks

    • 

      Hi Vitality,

      I just upgraded to 3.55 without problem.
      Did the firmware upload process complete correctly ?

      Could you retry using CLI update image command ?

      The full syntax is :

      • Command:
      UPDATE IMAGE {[FORCE] | SYNC}
      • Description:
      o The IMAGE command downloads a new flash image from the network and uses it to update the
      Onboard Administrator firmware. If a redundant Onboard Administrator is present in the system,
      then this command flashes and validates its firmware before attempting to flash the active
      Onboard Administrator.
      o Supported protocols are HTTP, FTP, and TFTP.
      o The URL must be formatted as: protocol://host/path/filename.
      o The URL syntax for IPv6 addresses is protocol://[]/path/file.
      o If your FTP server does not support anonymous logins, a username and password can be
      specified within the URL formatted as: ftp://username:password@host/path/filename.
      o Use FORCE to enable downgrading firmware even if settings and passwords might be lost.
      Enclosure management commands 125
      o The UPDATE IMAGE SYNC command initiates a firmware sync of the Active and Standby
      Onboard Administrators.
      o For USB protocol, see SHOW USBKEY. (“SHOW USBKEY” on page 154)

      HTH
      Jean

  4. 

    Hi , Can we upgrade OA firmware upgrade in controller manner active first and make sure that it’s good, then standby? what is the impact to blades if issues with OA modules while uopgrading OA. Any downtime?

  5. 

    Hi,
    Can I do it directly upgrade OA from version 2.6 to the latest which is 3.60?

  6. 

    Piter
    Yes this is possible.

  7. 

    Generally I don’t learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, very great article.

  8. 

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up and also the rest
    of the website is very good.

  9. 

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some articles for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an e-mail if interested.

    Thank you!

  10. 

    I believe everything published was very reasonable.
    However, think on this, what if you added a little information?

    I ain’t suggesting your content isn’t solid.
    , but what if you added a post title that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean How to upgrade the firmware of the HP Onboard Administrator | Juanma’s Blog is a
    little boring. You could peek at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create article headlines to grab people interested. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to grab readers interested about everything’ve written.
    Just my opinion, it might make your blog a little livelier.

  11. 

    Hey I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by error, while
    I was looking on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to
    say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all
    at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more,
    Please do keep up the great work.

  12. 

    Hi Can some one tell the procedure to upgrade firmware of the HP Onboard Administrator.
    From where CAN I GET THE IMAGE FILE to upload? I seing the HP release notes but could not find any image.

  13. 

    Great post, enjoyed important topic. A question on whether individual servers need firmware update before the OA. My servers seem to take about 40min to do is that norm? Thanks GeoArch

  14. 

    Hi I want to ask can I upgrade from 3.60 OA Firmware to 4.22 Firmware ? is there any road map for upgrade firmwares . please let me know .

    thanks

Leave a Reply

