Put ESXi server in maintenance mode from Tech Support Mode using vim-cmd

August 17, 2011 — 6 Comments

If you need to put a host in maintenance mode and only have access through ESXi Tech Support Mode, either local from DCUI or remote with SSH, in the following quick post I’ll show you how to do it using vim-cmd command.

Put the host in maintenance mode:

Check the state of the host.

Get the ESXi out of maintenance mode.

This procedure works in ESXi 4.x and ESXi 5.

Juanma.

6 responses to Put ESXi server in maintenance mode from Tech Support Mode using vim-cmd

  1. 

    Thanks!

  2. 

    What will happen, If I have vm’s running on this host in the moment I set to Maintenance mode thru command line? It will be migrated to the others ESXi hosts?

  3. 

    whoah this weblog is excellent i really like studying your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You recognize, many people aare looking around for this information, you could aid them greatly.

  4. 

    I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog
    that’s both equally educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail
    on the head. The problem is something which not enough men and women are
    speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I came across this during my search for something concerning this.

  5. 

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d
    like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for
    your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either
    way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  6. 

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears
    at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded
    on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

